CORAL ARTEFACT



An art-science-industry-education project to save the coral reefs.

on the left the pattern of a montastrea carvernosa coral, on the right spirit lace (seen under the microscope).

What if the lace of Puy-en-Velay could help save the corals?

At the end of summer 2017, the artist was invited by the Lyon-based association HS-Projets to participate in the 2018 Clermont-Ferrand edition of the International Festival of Extraordinary Textiles. The HS-Projets association aims to promote the exchange of ideas, know-how and experiences on issues related to heritage, contemporary creation and extra-European cultural dynamics, as well as international mobility by stimulating the circulation of heritage objects, artists, creators, professionals and researchers from outside Europe. To respond to this invitation, Jérémy Gobé chose to draw inspiration from a traditional skill of the Auvergne Rhône-Alpes region: the point d'esprit, a traditional bobbin lace pattern from Puy-en-Velay. This motif, created more than 400 years ago, is very similar to the design of one of the coral skeletons that he uses in his artistic experiments.


More on the website


Contact:

Jérémy Gobé

jeremy@corailartefact.com

ETI O'RI

The company eti o'ri manufactures and reinvents flip-flops, sandals and accessories known as "beach" and "travel" to make them environmentally friendly.

Eti o'ri is based on a new creative concept that combines the use of a bio-sourced material made from algae, certified biodegradable/compostable and an innovative design based on biomimicry.

Eti o'ri works in close collaboration with the Enzyme&Co Collective, specialists in the design of objects inspired by nature and in the study of the cycle and end of life of objects.

Eti o'ri implements unique solutions to reduce waste and pollution in the environment.

All eti o'ri products are designed and manufactured in France.

 


Website


Contact:

Nathalie Anton
CEO
nathalie.anton@etiori.com

PING

Presentation:

PING is a golf equipment brand based in Phoenix, Arizona. It was founded by Karsten Solheim.

An engineer at General Electric, Solheim began making his own putters in his garage in Redwood City, California, in 1959. Due to the growing demand for his putters, he resigned from his position at General Electric in 1967 to expand his company. PING currently produces clubs in every category: drivers, fairway woods, hybrids, irons and putters.

A few years ago a photograph of a dragonfly taken by President John A. Solheim inspired one of the innovations of the "G" Golf Driver, which the engineers called "Dragonfly Technology".

Mimicking the complex structure of the dragonfly's wing, the exoskeleton-like crown of the club has become ultra thin, ultra light and very strong at the same time. The aerodynamic clubhead has been "lightened" by 8g and the centre of gravity is now lower and further back than on a standard driver.

The designers created a flexible and consistent driver that allows the ball to be hit farther and with more accuracy. And thanks to Vortec Technology, which helps stabilise turbulent airflow through the clubhead, the engineers have reduced impact resistance by 37%.

The biomim'review sheet:

Website

Back to the exhibitors page

 

ZIPP

Presentation:

Curiosity led Zipp engineers to study the fins of humpback whales when developing the Zipp 454 NSW wheels

Zipp engineers had a radical idea: to design a wheel that is not quite round... at least in its inner diameter, where the spokes are attached. They thought that carbon lugs could improve stability and aerodynamic efficiency.

This premise has become a reality in the form of the new 454 NSW carbon clincher wheel, with its Sawtooth™ rim profile featuring Hyperfoil™ lugs and Hexfin™ indentations.

After a series of unsuccessful attempts to incorporate wavy shapes into bicycle wheels, Zipp development engineer David Morse began to discover the words 'tubers' and 'biomimicry' and to study them in the context of Zipp engineering.
While researching waveforms and fluid dynamics, David Morse came across academic work reporting the effect of tubercles on the fins of humpback whales. The introduction to an article in the journal Integrative and Comparative Biology stated: "Humpback whales have highly mobile wing-like fins for lateral tilting and turning. The large, rounded tubercles on the edge of the flippers are unique morphological structures in nature.

After 4 years of development, 252 hours in the wind tunnel and 35 rim prototypes, Zipp engineers discovered the shape that would become known as the Sawtooth™ technology of the 454 NSW wheel. Thus was born a wheelset with aerodynamic efficiency and crosswind stability far superior to conventionally shaped wheels, the most innovative and efficient wheel Zipp has ever designed in its 28-year history.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Biomim'review sheet:

The Youtube film:

Website

Back to the exhibitors page

CORAIL ARTEFACT



Un projet art-science-industrie-éducation pour sauver les barrières de corail.

à gauche le motif d’un corail montastrea carvernosa, à droite de la dentelle au point d’esprit (vue au microscope).

Et si la dentelle du Puy-en-Velay pouvait contribuer à sauver les coraux ?

Fin de l’été 2017, l’artiste est invité par l’association lyonnaise HS-Projets à participer à l’édition clermontoise 2018 du Festival International des Textiles Extraordinaires. L’association HS-Projets a pour objet de favoriser les échanges d’idées, de savoir-faire et d’expériences sur les questions relatives au patrimoine, à la création contemporaine et aux dynamiques culturelles extra européennes, ainsi que la mobilité internationale en stimulant la circulation des objets patrimoniaux, des artistes, des créateurs, des professionnels et des chercheurs extra européens. Pour répondre à cette invitation, Jérémy Gobé choisit de s’inspirer d’un savoir-faire traditionnel de la région Auvergne Rhône-Alpes : le point d’esprit, motif traditionnel de dentelle au fuseau du Puy-en-Velay. Ce motif, créé il y a plus de 400 ans, ressemble à s’y méprendre au dessin d’un des squelettes coralliens qu’il utilise dans le cadre de ses expérimentions artistiques.


Suite sur le site web


Contact:

Jérémy Gobé

jeremy@corailartefact.com

ETI O’RI

La société eti o’ri fabrique et réinvente les tongs, sandales et accessoires dits « de plage » et de « voyage » afin de les rendre respectueux de l’environnement.

Eti o’ri est basé sur un nouveau concept de création qui associe l’utilisation d’une matière bio-sourcée composée d’algues, certifiée biodégradable/compostable et d’un design innovant basé sur le biomimétisme.

Eti o’ri travaille en étroite collaboration avec le Collectif Enzyme&Co, spécialiste de la conception d’objets aux designs inspirés par la nature ainsi que de l’étude du cycle et de la fin de vie des objets.

Eti o’ri met en place des solutions singulières afin de réduire les déchets et la pollution dans l’environnement.

Tous les produits eti o’ri sont conçus et fabriqués en France.

 


Site Web


Contact:

Nathalie Anton
CEO
nathalie.anton@etiori.com

PING

Présentation :

PING est une marque d’équipement de golf, basée à Phoenix en Arizona. Elle a été fondée par Karsten Solheim.

Ingénieur à General Electric, Solheim a commencé à faire ses propres putters dans son garage situé dans la ville de Redwood City en Californie, en 1959. En raison de la demande croissante envers ses putters, il a démissionné de son poste à la General Electric en 1967 afin de développer sa compagnie. PING produit actuellement des clubs dans chaque catégorie: driver, bois de parcours, hybrides, fers et putters.

Il y a quelques années une photographie de libellule effectuée par le président John A. Solheim a inspiré une des innovations du Driver de golf « G », que les ingénieurs ont appelée la « Dragonfly Technology ».

Imitant la structure complexe de l’aile de libellule, la couronne du club, à la façon d’un exosquelette, est devenue ultra fine, ultra légère et très résistante à la fois. La tête du club, très aérodynamique, a été « allégée » de 8g et le centre de gravité est désormais plus bas et plus en arrière que sur un driver standard.

Les concepteurs ont ainsi créé un driver flexible et consistant, permettant d’envoyer la balle plus loin et avec plus de précision. Et grâce à la technologie « Vortec » qui permet notamment de stabiliser les flux d’air turbulents au niveau de la tête du club, les ingénieurs ont réduit de 37% la résistance à l’impact.

La fiche biomim’review:

Site Web

Retour à la page exposants

 

ZIPP

Présentation :

La curiosité a poussé les ingénieurs Zipp à étudier les nageoires des baleines à bosse lors du développement des roues Zipp 454 NSW

Les ingénieurs Zipp avaient une idée radicale : concevoir une roue qui ne soit pas tout à fait ronde … du moins au niveau de son diamètre intérieur, là où les rayons sont fixés. Ils pensaient que des bosses en carbone pourraient améliorer la stabilité et l’efficacité aérodynamique.

Ce postulat est devenu réalité sous la forme de la nouvelle roue 454 NSW carbone à pneu, avec son profil de jante Sawtooth™ dotée de bosses Hyperfoil™ et d’empreintes Hexfin™.

Après une série d’essais infructueux pour intégrer des formes ondulées sur les roues de vélo, David Morse, ingénieur du développement Zipp, commença à découvrir les mots « tubercules » et « biomimétisme » et à les étudier dans le cadre de l’ingénierie Zipp.
Pendant ses recherches sur les formes ondulées et la dynamique des fluides, David Morse est tombé sur des travaux académiques relatant l’effet des tubercules sur les nageoires des baleines à bosse. L’introduction d’un article dans le journal Integrative and Comparative Biology indiquait : «Les baleines à bosse sont dotées de nageoires extrêmement mobiles ressemblant à des ailes pour s’incliner latéralement et pour tourner. Les grands tubercules arrondis présents sur l’arête des nageoires sont des structures morphologiques uniques dans la nature.».

Après 4 ans de développement, 252 heures en soufflerie et 35 prototypes de jante, les ingénieurs Zipp ont découvert la forme qui deviendrait connue sous le nom de technologie Sawtooth™ de la roue 454 NSW. Ainsi est née une paire de roues avec une efficacité aérodynamique et une stabilité face aux vents latéraux nettement supérieures aux roues de forme classique, la roue la plus innovante et la plus efficace qu’ai jamais conçu Zipp en 28 années d’existence.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

La fiche Biomim’review:

Le film Youtube:

Site Web

Retour à la page exposants