THE LOUIS ARMAND PLENARY

2022 maintains its format of large plenary sessions for institutional presentations, conferences, round tables and lectures.  

The 2022 programme will be a continuation of previous editions, rich, surprising, enthusiastic, hybrid, ... and as usual through various testimonies, from researchers, explorers, philosophers, anthropologists, entomologists, biologists, startups, R&D and CSR managers ...


Overview Louis Armand 2 DAYS


9h / [ DOOR OPENING


10.15 - 10.45 am [Biomim'LAB Show #1

Optical components for the industry of the future thanks to biomimicry!

Fabien Paumier is a teacher-researcher and HDR lecturer in the Physics Department of the UFR SFA - University of Poitiers.

"Photonics is everywhere but nobody knows it! In military applications, autonomous cars, smartphones, ... photonics is replacing electronics ... we have the opportunity to create the electronics of the 21st century.

Photonics! ... it's electronics at the speed of light! Explanations and demonstrations during this Biomim LAB Show to discover the design of optical components in 3D architecture inspired for example by the nanometric structures of butterfly wings and lotus leaves!


10.55 - 11.25 am [Biomim'LAB Show #2

Drawing inspiration from dinosaur bones for the high-strength mechanical parts of the future.

Alexandra Houssaye is a paleontologist at the Muséum National d'Histoire Naturelle, Director of Research at the CNRS, and a specialist in "paleobiomimicry";

Julien Chaves-Jacob is a senior lecturer at Aix-Marseille University, specialising in bio-inspired design.

Presentation of their joint work carried out in partnership with a major industrial group in the aeronautics industry to try to resolve a certain number of issues relating to the wear and resistance of mechanical parts in highly stressed environments and uses.

What if the solution came from the past? The great animals of the Jurassic and Cretaceous periods must also have had extraordinary bone structures to be able to move and withstand the incredible pressures of their extraordinary size.


11:35 - 12:05 [ 1 Book - 1 Author

Anne-Sophie Novel

The wilderness survey, why and how to reconnect with the living / Salamandre - Colibris

For over a year, Anne-Sophie Novel investigated to rediscover the links we have with nature. To understand, but also to explore and feel the relationship we have with living things. Like many of us, she is convinced that it is urgent to act and transform ourselves for a more liveable environment and human societies.

Inspired by her two children and nourished by her experiences in the field, the author passes on the most up-to-date concepts and knowledge gathered from those who are making the transition. By meeting with experts, the journalist provides us with a wealth of inspiring and original testimonies and experiences that will give everyone hope for today and tomorrow.

>> Read more


Conference in Salle Louis Armand, Level S3

Signing session at the Rue de l'Echiquier stand, Level S3


12.10 - 12.40 pm [ Biomim'LAB Show #3

Swaminath Venkateswaran

Agile bio-inspired robots to get around.

Swaminath Venkateswaran is a teacher-researcher at the Ecole supérieure d'ingénieurs Léonard-de-Vinci, has a PhD in mechanical engineering from the École Centrale de Nantes, and is affiliated with the Modeling research group of the De Vinci Research Centre (DVRC).

During this Biomim LAB show, you will see a presentation of his research work which focuses mainly on bio-inspired locomotion approaches for industrial applications! The inspection of pipes and pipelines is of crucial importance, how to choose the right locomotion principle? how to sneak past bends, turns and junctions? ... elephant trunk, caterpillar ... the living world is full of solutions, useful in many fields.

Come and discover these amazing and inspiring works at Biomim'expo. And for more information: LinkedIn ; Google scholar ; GitHub

.


1pm - 2pm [NATURE = FUTURE FILM SCREENINGS

La Belle Société Production and NewCorp Consulting offer you the opportunity to enjoy the Louis Armand plenary (level S3) transformed into a cinema during lunchtime to (re)discover the films Nature = Future thanks to a special Biomim'expo montage.


14:00 - 14:45 [ FINAL BIOMIM'CHALLENGE 2022

The competition for bio-inspired projects, presented during the Biomim'expo and pitched in the final live on stage on 19 October.

Each project has a 3-minute presentation and a few minutes for questions and answers.

The jury deliberates live and gives its ranking after the candidates have passed.

Information and registration still possible.

.


14:45 - 15:45 [ Graduation ceremony of the Master of Science Nature-Inspired Design ENSCI Les Ateliers

Biomim'expo will have the pleasure and honour of hosting a graduation ceremony, and not just any ceremony! The Master of Science Nature-Inspired Design (NID) from ENSCI - Les Ateliers - classes 1 & 2. A first at Biomim'expo!

A master of science that has seen and is seeing the growth of a true bio-inspired generation of designers and bio-inspired project leaders.

With in particular Maëla comic book artist and creator of the NID & & 2 diploma; Geneviève SengissenHead of Continuing Education at the ENSCI - Les Ateliers, who carries out this NID Master of Science with talent and passion; and Guillian GravesThis is the first time that a trainer has been involved in a project with a supervisor.

Come and congratulate and encourage them.


3.45pm - 4pm [ THE BIOMIM'CHALLENGE 2022 WINNERS

After the jury's deliberation during the NID graduation ceremony ... the 2022 Biomim'Challenge prize list is revealed!

.


16:00 - 16:45 [ Conference / Bioacoustic experiment ...

Nicolas MathévonBioacoustician, Professor at the University of St-Etienne, Senior Member of the University Institute of France. Specialist in animal language and behaviour. Director of the ENES Sensory Neuro-Ethology Team at Jean-Monnet University.

>> Let's (re)listen to Nature, she has a lot to tell us.

The speech will be followed by a signing of his book " Animals speak, let's listen to them "published by humenSciences, on the François Sommer Foundation stand (S3)


16:45 - 17:15 [Biomim'LAB Show #4

Translating insect flight into a mathematical equation for innovation in energy performance.

Benjamin Thiria is a lecturer at the Laboratory of Physics and Mechanics of Heterogeneous Media at ESPCI Paris. He is also a lecturer at the École Polytechnique.

Aerodynamics, propulsion, energy efficiency, structural optimisation, bionics ... living beings have developed the art and the way to propel themselves through the air and water with incredible efficiency, energy frugality and mechanical optimisation.

Why are insect wings soft and elastic? Why and how do they deform under the effect of the surrounding fluid? How can wing beats be translated into a mathematical equation? How can we study insect flight in the laboratory to decipher its secrets? How can biomimicry help us study these strategies to find ways of innovating and optimising energy performance?


7pm - 9pm [ NETWORK COCKTAIL

Biomim'expo is also a family reunion, that of the great cousin of biomimicry. So let's take advantage of this two-day event in 2022 to get together for a drink and a good time.

Special and separate ticket to please contribute to the rental and catering costs. To be taken on the ticketing.


10.15 - 10.45 am [ 1 Book - 1 Author

Olivier Hamant

The Third Way of Life / Odile Jacob

The cult of performance leads our society to emphasise the values of success and permanent optimisation in all areas. Slowness, redundancy and randomness are then perceived negatively. Olivier HamantIn this book, the author attempts to rehabilitate them based on his knowledge of living processes.

What can we learn from the life sciences? Although there are some remarkably efficient biological mechanisms, recent progress has highlighted the fundamental role of errors, slowness and inconsistencies in the construction and robustness of the natural world. Is life then sub-optimal? How can a biologically inspired sub-optimality constitute a counter-model to the creed of performance and control in the Anthropocene?

In the face of pessimistic observations and environmental alarms, the author proposes courses of action to avoid catastrophe and outlines solutions for a viable future reconciled with nature.

>> Read more


Conference in Salle Louis Armand, Level S3

Signing session at the Rue de l'Echiquier stand, Level S3


10.55 - 11.25 am [ 1 Book - 1 Author

Vincent Doumeizel

The algae revolution / Editions des Equateurs

Vincent Doumeizel is Senior Adviser "Ocean" at United Nations Global Compact. Director for the Food Programme for the Lloyd's Register Foundation. Author at a book signing.

Wrongly considered as a pollution of which they are only a symptom, algae actually offer us an infinite field of innovation and concrete solutions to meet the major challenges of our time.

If we learned to grow them sustainably, they could feed people, replace plastic, decarbonise the economy, cool the atmosphere, clean the oceans, rebuild marine ecosystems, heal us and provide income for coastal populations...

Algae are probably the world's most important untapped resource. As the first link in the chain of life, they communicate with each other, reproduce and grow very quickly. They do not need food, fresh water, land space or pesticides.

Today, overpopulation and the ecological emergency are leading us to take a new look at this forgotten treasure.

12,000 years ago, man emerged from prehistory by cultivating plants on land. Reconnecting with those of the sea will be a revolution for our civilisation. A seaweed revolution!

>> Read more


Conference in Salle Louis Armand, Level S3

Signing session at the Rue de l'Echiquier stand, Level S3


11.45am - 1pm [Entrepreneurs' Forum

On stage in front of you, entrepreneurs with innovative bio-inspired projects come to present their innovation, their background, their needs and their development project. 10-minute pitch - 5′ question and answer session.


Mathieu FauveHe was a researcher at the Institute for Snow and Avalanche Research until 2009, when he joined Stöckli Swiss Sports AG as Head of R&D.

>> From product innovation to CSR: from a sea turtle that inspires a breakthrough technology for skis, biomimicry has become an innovation tool for transition.  


Emmanuel RoyPresident & CEO Eden Tech.

>> Inspired by the exceptional capabilities of microfluidics to manage and filter large material flows in living organisms, presentation of the Porrima project, a range of revolutionary solutions with unparalleled capabilities for ocean plastic clean-up.


Sidney RostanFounder & CEO Bioxegy.

>> Testimony and feedback from various industrial cases of biomimicry application. Promises and reality of a promising and demanding approach.


Other stakeholders to follow.


1pm - 2pm [NATURE = FUTURE FILM SCREENINGS

La Belle Société Production and NewCorp Consulting offer you the opportunity to enjoy the Louis Armand plenary (level S3) transformed into a cinema during lunchtime to (re)discover the films Nature = Future thanks to a special Biomim'expo montage.


2.30 - 3.30 pm [ Biomim'Invest - Presentation of the first fundraising report

Biomimicry startups are raising millions. The first cohort of innovative French companies in Biomim Deeptech (bio-inspired innovations with impact) has raised more than €500 million from 70 investment funds, industrialists and support structures.

Preview of the first Biomim' Deeptech fundraising report.

Key figures, summary, testimonials from entrepreneurs and investors, Call to Action for the launch of the Biomim'Invest collective.


3.45pm - 4.15pm [ Biomimicry in the UK ... trends and news

For the first time, a "UK pavilion" is present at Biomim'expo.

Presentation by Richard MacCowan the biomimicry UK network, current trends, and several examples of bio-inspired innovations made in the UK by research laboratories and start-ups.

LA PLÉNIÈRE LOUIS ARMAND

2022 maintient son format de grandes plénières pour les présentations institutionnelles, conférences, tables rondes et exposés …  

Le programme 2022 s’inscrira dans la continuité des éditions précédentes, riche, étonnant, enthousiaste, hybride, … et comme d’habitude à travers des témoignages divers, de chercheurs, d’explorateurs, de philosophes, d’anthropologues, d’entomologistes, de biologistes, de startups, de responsables R&D et RSE …


Vision d’ensemble Louis Armand 2 JOURS


9h / [ OUVERTURE DES PORTES


10h15 – 10h45 [ Biomim’LAB Show #1

Les composants optiques de l’industrie du futur grâce au biomimétisme !

Fabien Paumier est Enseignant-chercheur, Maître de conférences HDR au Département de Physique de l’UFR SFA – Université de Poitiers.

« la photonique est partout mais personne ne le sait ! Dans les applications militaires, la voiture autonome, les smartphones, .. la photonique est en train de remplacer l’électronique .. nous avons la possibilité de créer l’électronique du XXIe siècle »

La photonique ! … c’est l’électronique à la vitesse de la lumière ! Explications et démonstrations lors de ce Biomim LAB Show pour découvrir la conception de composants optiques en architecture 3D inspirés par exemple des structures nanométriques des ailes de papillon et des feuilles de lotus !


10h55 – 11h25 [ Biomim’LAB Show #2

S’inspirer des os de dinosaures pour les pièces mécaniques de très haute résistance du futur.

Alexandra Houssaye est Paléontologue au Muséum National d’Histoire Naturelle, Directrice de recherche au CNRS, spécialiste de “paléobiomimétisme” ;

Julien Chaves-Jacob est Maître de conférences à Aix-Marseille Université, spécialiste de conception Bio Inspirée.

Présentation de leur travaux conjoints menés en partenariat avec un grand groupe industriel de l’aéronautique pour tenter de résoudre un certain nombre d’enjeux d’usure et de résistance de pièces mécaniques dans des environnements et usages sous fortes contraintes.

Et si la solution venait du passé ? Les grands animaux du Jurassique et du Crétacé devaient eux aussi disposer de structures osseuses extraordinaires pour pourvoir se déplacer et supporter les incroyables pressions de leurs gabarits hors normes.


11h35 – 12h05 [ 1 Livre – 1 Auteur

Anne-Sophie Novel

L’enquête sauvage, pourquoi et comment renouer avec le vivant ? / Salamandre – Colibris

Pendant plus d’un an, Anne-Sophie Novel a enquêté pour redécouvrir les liens que nous avons avec la nature. Pour comprendre, mais aussi explorer et ressentir la relation que nous entretenons avec le vivant. Car comme beaucoup d’entre nous, elle est convaincue qu’il y a urgence à agir et se transformer pour un environnement et des sociétés humaines plus vivables.

Inspirée par ses deux enfants, nourrie d’expériences sur le terrain, l’auteure transmet les concepts et les connaissances les plus actuels recueillis auprès de celles et ceux qui font la transition. Allant à la rencontre d’experts, la journaliste nous livre une somme de témoignages et d’expériences inspirantes et originales qui donneront à chacun des pistes et de l’espoir pour aujourd’hui comme pour demain.

>> En savoir plus


Conférence en Salle Louis Armand, Niveau S3

Dédicaces au stand Rue de l’Echiquier, Niveau S3


12h10 – 12h40 [ Biomim’LAB Show #3

Swaminath Venkateswaran

Des robots agiles bio-inspirés pour se faufiler partout.

Swaminath Venkateswaran est enseignant-chercheur à l’Ecole supérieure d’ingénieurs Léonard-de-Vinci, il dispose d’un doctorat en génie mécanique obtenu à l’École Centrale de Nantes, et est affilié au groupe de recherche « Modeling » du Centre de Recherche De Vinci (DVRC).

Vous assisterez lors de cette séquence Biomim LAB show à une présentation de ses travaux de recherche qui se concentrent principalement sur les approches de locomotion bio-inspirées pour des applications industrielles ! L’inspection des tuyaux et pipelines est d’une importance cruciale, comment choisir le principe de locomotion adapté ? comment se faufiler ? passer les coudes, les virages et les jonctions ? … trompe d’éléphant, chenille … le vivant recèle de solutions, utiles dans bien des domaines.

Venez découvrir ces travaux étonnants et inspirants à Biomim’expo. Et pour en savoir plus : LinkedIn ; Google scholar ; GitHub

.


13h – 14h [ PROJECTIONS DE FILMS NATURE = FUTUR

La Belle Société Production et NewCorp Conseil vous proposent de profiter de la plénière Louis Armand (niveau S3) transformée en salle de cinéma pendant l’heure du déjeuner pour (re)découvrir les films Nature = Futur grâce à un montage spécial Biomim’expo.


14h – 14h45 [ FINALE BIOMIM’CHALLENGE 2022

Le concours de projets bio-inspirés, présentés dans le cadre de la Biomim’expo et pitchés en finale en direct sur scène le 19 octobre.

Chaque projet dispose de 3 minutes de présentation et de quelques minutes de questions-réponses.

Le jury délibère en direct et livre son classement après le passage des candidats.

Infos et inscriptions encore possible.

.


14h45 – 15h45 [ Cérémonie de remise des diplômes du Master of science Nature-Inspired Design de ENSCI Les Ateliers

Biomim’expo aura le plaisir et l’honneur d’accueillir une cérémonie de remise de diplômes, et pas n’importe laquelle ! : celle du Master of science Nature-Inspired Design (NID) de ENSCI – Les Ateliers – promos 1 & 2. Une première à Biomim’expo !

Un master of science qui a vu et voit grandir une véritable bio-inspired generation de designers et de porteurs de projets bio-inspirés.

Avec notamment Maël, dessinateur auteur de BD et créateur du diplôme NID & & 2 ; Geneviève Sengissen, responsable de la formation continue à ENSCI – Les Ateliers qui porte ce Master of science NID avec talent et passion ; et Guillian Graves, formateur-accompagnateur référent évidemment !

Venez nombreux les féliciter et encourager.


15h45 – 16h [ LES LAURÉATS BIOMIM’CHALLENGE 2022

Après la délibération du jury pendant la remise des diplômes du NID … révélation du palmarès 2022 du Biomim’Challenge !

.


16h – 16h45 [ Conférence / expérience bioacoustique …

Nicolas Mathévon, Bioacousticien, Professeur à l’Université St-Etienne, Membre Senior de l’Institut universitaire de France. Spécialiste des langages et comportements animaux. Directeur de l’Equipe de Neuro-Ethologie Sensorielle ENES de l’université Jean-Monnet.

>> Sachons (ré)écouter la Nature, elle a plein de choses à nous dire.

L’intervention sera suivie d’une dédicace de son livre « Les animaux parlent, sachons les écouter » publié chez humenSciences, sur le stand de la Fondation François Sommer (S3)


16h45 – 17h15 [ Biomim’LAB Show #4

Traduire le vol des insectes en équation mathématique pour innover en performance énergétique.

Benjamin Thiria est maître de conférences et travaille au Laboratoire de Physique et Mécanique des Milieux Hétérogènes de l’ESPCI Paris. Il est également chargé d’enseignement à l’École Polytechnique.

Aérodynamisme, propulsion, rendements énergétiques, optimisation des structures, bionique … le vivant a développé l’art et la manière de se propulser dans l’air et dans l’eau avec une une incroyable efficacité, beaucoup de frugalité énergétique et d’optimisation. mécanique.

Pourquoi les ailes des insectes sont-elles souples et élastiques ? Pourquoi et comment se déforment-elles sous l’effet du fluide environnant ? Comment traduire des battements d’ailes en équation mathématique ? Comment étudier le vol des insectes en laboratoire pour en décrypter les secrets ? Comment le biomimétisme peut-il nous aider à étudier ces stratégies pour trouver des pistes d’innovations et d’optimisation de performance énergétique ?


19h – 21h [ COCKTAIL RÉSEAU

Biomim’expo, c’est aussi une réunion de famille, cette de la grande cousinade du biomimétisme. Alors profitons de ce passage sur deux jours en 2022 pour nous retrouver en « off » autour d’un verre lors d’un moment convivial.

Billet spécial et distinct pour svp une participation aux frais locatif et traiteur. À prendre sur la plateforme de la billetterie.


10h15 – 10h45 [ 1 Livre – 1 Auteur

Olivier Hamant

La Troisième Voie du vivant / Odile Jacob

Le culte de la performance conduit notre société à mettre en avant les valeurs de la réussite et de l’optimisation permanente dans tous les domaines. La lenteur, la redondance, l’aléatoire sont alors perçus négativement. Olivier Hamant, dans ce livre, tente de les réhabiliter en s’appuyant sur sa connaissance des processus du vivant.

Que nous apprennent les sciences de la vie ? S’il existe bien des mécanismes biologiques remarquablement efficaces, des progrès récents mettent surtout en avant le rôle fondamental des erreurs, des lenteurs, des incohérences dans la construction et la robustesse du monde naturel. Le vivant serait-il alors sous-optimal ? En quoi une sous-optimalité d’inspiration biologique peut-elle constituer un contre-modèle au credo de la performance et du contrôle dans l’Anthropocène ?

Face aux constats pessimistes et aux alarmes environnementales, l’auteur propose des pistes d’action pour éviter la catastrophe et esquisse des solutions pour un avenir viable et réconcilié avec la nature.

>> En savoir plus


Conférence en Salle Louis Armand, Niveau S3

Dédicaces au stand Rue de l’Echiquier, Niveau S3


10h55 – 11h25 [ 1 Livre – 1 Auteur

Vincent Doumeizel

La révolution des algues / Editions des Equateurs

Vincent Doumeizel est Senior Adviser “Ocean” at United Nations Global Compact. Director for the Food Programme for the Lloyd’s Register Foundation. Auteur en conférence-dédicace.

Considérées à tort comme une pollution dont elles ne sont que le symptôme, les algues nous offrent en réalité un champ d’innovation infini et des solutions concrètes pour répondre aux grands défis de notre époque.

Si nous apprenions à les cultiver de façon durable, elles pourraient nourrir les hommes, se substituer au plastique, décarboner l’économie, refroidir l’atmosphère, nettoyer les océans, reconstruire les écosystèmes marins, nous soigner et fournir des revenus aux populations côtières…

Les algues constituent sans doute la plus importante ressource encore inexploitée au monde. Premier maillon de la chaîne du vivant, elles communiquent entre elles, se reproduisent et poussent très rapidement. Elles n’ont besoin ni de nourriture, ni d’eau douce, ni d’espace terrestre, ni de pesticides.

Aujourd’hui, la surpopulation et l’urgence écologique nous conduisent à appréhender avec un œil nouveau ce trésor oublié.

Voici 12 000 ans, l’homme est sorti de la préhistoire en cultivant les végétaux sur la terre. Renouer avec ceux de la mer sera une révolution pour notre civilisation. Une révolution des algues !

>> En savoir plus


Conférence en Salle Louis Armand, Niveau S3

Dédicaces au stand Rue de l’Echiquier, Niveau S3


11h45 – 13h [ Forum des entrepreneurs

Sur scène face à vous des entrepreneurs porteurs de projets bio-inspirés innovants viennent vous présenter leur innovation, leur parcours, leurs besoins et projet de développement. Par séquence de 10 minutes de pitch – 5′ de questions/réponses.


Mathieu Fauve, chercheur pour l’institut de la recherche sur la neige et les avalanches jusqu’en 2009, année où il rejoint Stöckli Swiss Sports AG en tant que responsable de la R&D.

>> De l’innovation produit à la RSE : depuis une tortue marine qui inspire une technologie de rupture pour les skis, le biomimétisme est devenu un outil d’innovation au service de la transition.  


Emmanuel Roy, Président & CEO Eden Tech.

>> Inspiré des capacités exceptionnelles de la microfluidique pour gérer et filtrer d’importants flux de matières chez les organismes vivants, présentation du projet Porrima, une gamme de solutions révolutionnaires aux capacités inégalées pour la dépollution plastique des océans.


Sidney Rostan, Founder & CEO Bioxegy.

>> Témoignage et retour d’expérience issus de divers cas industriels d’application du biomimétisme. Promesses et réalité d’une approche prometteuse et exigeante.


Autres intervenants à suivre.


13h – 14h [ PROJECTIONS DE FILMS NATURE = FUTUR

La Belle Société Production et NewCorp Conseil vous proposent de profiter de la plénière Louis Armand (niveau S3) transformée en salle de cinéma pendant l’heure du déjeuner pour (re)découvrir les films Nature = Futur grâce à un montage spécial Biomim’expo.


14h30 – 15h30 [ Biomim’Invest – Présentation du premier rapport des levées de fonds

Les startups du biomimétisme lèvent des millions. La première cohorte d’entreprises innovantes françaises de la Biomim Deeptech (innovations bio-inspirées à impact) a levé plus de 500 millions d’euros auprès de 70 fonds d’investissement, industriels ou structures d’accompagnement.

Présentation en avant première du premier rapport des levées de fonds de la Biomim’ Deeptech.

Chiffres clés, synthèse, témoignages d’entrepreneurs et d’investisseurs, Call to Action pour le lancement du collectif Biomim’Invest.


15h45 – 16h15 [ Le Biomimétisme en UK … tendances et actualités

Pour la première fois, un « pavillon UK » est présent à Biomim’expo.

Présentation par Richard MacCowan du réseau biomimicry UK, des tendances en cours, et de plusieurs exemples d’innovations bio-inspirées made in UK portées des laboratoires de recherche ou startups.