Like at home 2022

You like this atypical and intimate format! We will be repeating it at Biomim'expo 7 in 2022.

In a small living room set up "as if at home", informal and intimate discussions with 10 or 20 people around to exchange and discover jobs and functions that are often unknown but nevertheless fascinating. How did they get there? What do they do on a daily basis? How can they inspire us?

Every 30′, a man or woman faces you.

Come and talk to our witnesses and find out about their background.


Recap programme 25 and 26 October


TUESDAY 25 > 12:00-12:30 // "Comme à la Maison" room Level S2 WEST (to the left down the stairs)

JOB ... "TV PRESENTER AND EXTREME WEATHER EXPERT".. Today, climate change is expressed more and more frequently and intensely by extreme weather events. How to explain and present correctly these phenomena which, beyond scientific data, also have a political, ecological and social impact? Is this well understood today? Does Karine Durand still feel the "Don't Look Up" effect?

Karine Durand will tell you about his journey, how the weather data is collected, what makes it possible to distinguish "ordinary" weather from extreme weather, the current dynamics on these weather phenomena that affect and will increasingly affect our daily livesand what links to climate and biodiversity.

Karine Durand has degrees in International Environmental Sciences (Yale University, United Nations, FEMA, University of Alberta, Paris Business School) and in Communication (Institut Français de Presse and Sorbonne Nouvelle). Passionate about the great outdoors and fascinated by extreme climatic phenomena, she has spent more than 20 stays and internships in the United States in the wildest places to study these extreme phenomena.


TUESDAY 25 > 14:30-15:00 // "Comme à la Maison" room Level S2 WEST (to the left down the stairs)

JOB ... BIO-INSPIRED URBAN LIVING DESIGNER.

Rethinking cities, our habitat as a species, as a place of multiple and interconnected lives, imagining urban logistics as a living ecosystem, thinking of its territory as a biotope, using design to rethink concepts and uses...

Come and discover with Karine Weber how the design profession is inspired by biomimicry, and vice versa. How her career path led her to spend 18 months at ENSCI Les Ateliers to follow the Master of Science "Nature Inspired Design" after 15 years in the business (mostly at IKEA) in skills development, continuous improvement, flow logistics and supply chain!

Why, how, and what new perspective on these professions does biomimicry bring?

Karine is also a "fresco artist" of the Fresque du Climat and a Time for the planet partner... she will also explain what this means to her.


TUESDAY 25 > 16:00-16:30 // "Comme à la Maison" room Level S2 WEST (to the left down the stairs)

JOB ... "COMMUNICATION OFFICER FOR A NATIONAL BOTANICAL CONSERVATORY.

Do you want to work in communications, exercise your talents in graphic design, editorial content, or brand positioning, but work within a scientific institution linked to research and biodiversity? Come and listen to Audrey Billon's story, who has worked in agencies as well as in private and public institutions.

Audrey Billon is a graduate of Celsa in Information and Communication Sciences (Master's degree in Corporate, Institutional and Strategic Communication), and a Master's degree from Penninghen in Art Direction, Graphic Arts and Design.


WEDNESDAY 26 > 12:00-12:30 // "Comme à la Maison" room Level S2 WEST (to the left down the stairs)

BUSINESS "RESTORER OF ENTOMOLOGICAL COLLECTIONS. How does one become a conservator of insect collections? And what does that mean exactly? How do you classify these collections? How do you stage them? How do you study them? What training? What course?  

Aline DoniniThe entomologist-museologist will tell you about his amazing daily life, but also his passion and fascination for insects.

Aline has a master's degree in Museology of Science from the National Museum of Natural History in Paris, another in History of Science from the University of Nantes and a degree in Environmental Biology. She will explain that her job is also art in the service of a scientific museum culture!

Preserving and promoting scientific heritage means preserving the memory of the past that will inspire our future! Come and discover this little-known profession at the confluence of science, art and the environment...


WEDNESDAY 26 > 14:30-15:00 // "Comme à la Maison" room Level S2 WEST (to the left down the stairs)

JOB ... CERTIFIED PROFESSIONAL FOREST MANAGER.

This is a decisive and exciting job! And yet it is probably not well known.

How to "manage" a forest? How can the needs of nature and man be reconciled? What is the meaning of sound, multifunctional management with continuous cover forestry? How can we find the right balance between the needs and expectations of the many stakeholders in the forest? How to maintain a harmonious cohabitation between large animals and trees? How can we "imitate nature and hasten its work" as Charles-Etienne Dupont likes to say? How are our forests doing and how can we help them adapt to global warming?

A job in the heart of nature, with a passion, sometimes poorly perceived because it is not well known, which combines a wide variety of actions and techniques (dendrometric and silvicultural audits, etc.). (e.g.: logging sites; selective thinning; garden cutting; seed cutting; reforestation, conversion of regular forest stands, etc.).

Follow the guide and discover this essential profession through the story of a passionate and committed forester.

Charles-Etienne Dupont is a graduate of the CFPPA-UFA Métiers de la forêt et du bois with a higher technician's diploma in land use planning and management.

Comme à la maison 2022

Ce format atypique et intimiste vous plaît ! Nous le renouvelons à Biomim’expo 7 en 2022.

Dans un petit salon aménagé « comme à la maison », discussions informelles et intimes à 10 ou 20 autour pour échanger et aller à la découverte de métiers et de fonctions souvent méconnus et pourtant passionnants. Comment en sont-ils arrivés là ? Que font-ils au quotidien ? Comment s’en inspirer ?

Toutes les 30′, un homme ou une femme face à vous.

Venez discuter avec nos témoins et découvrir leur parcours.


Récap programme 25 et 26 octobre


MARDI 25 > 12h-12h30 // Salle « Comme à la Maison » Niveau S2 OUEST (vers la gauche en bas des marches)

MÉTIER … « JOURNALISTE PRÉSENTATRICE TV EXPERTE DE METEO EXTRÊME ». Aujourd’hui, le dérèglement climatique s’exprime de façon de plus en plus fréquente et intense par des épisodes de météo extrême. Comment en faire son métier ? comment expliquer et présenter correctement ces phénomènes qui au-delà des données scientifiques ont également une portée politique, écologique et sociale ? Est-ce bien compris aujourd’hui ? Karine Durand ressent-elle encore l’effet « Don’t Look Up ? »

Karine Durand vous racontera son parcours, la façon dont les données météo sont collectées, ce qui permet de distinguer la météo « ordinaire » de la météo extrême, la dynamique en cours sur ces phénomènes météo qui touchent et vont de plus en plus toucher notre quotidien, et quels liens faire avec le climat et la biodiversité.

Karine Durand est diplômée en Sciences Environnementales à l’international (Yale University, Nations Unies, FEMA, University of Alberta, Paris Business School) et en Communication (Institut Français de Presse et Sorbonne Nouvelle). Passionnée par les grands espaces et fascinée par les phénomènes climatiques extrêmes, elle a effectué plus de 20 séjours et stages aux États-Unis dans les endroits les plus sauvages pour étudier ces phénomènes extrêmes.


MARDI 25 > 14h30-15h // Salle « Comme à la Maison » Niveau S2 OUEST (vers la gauche en bas des marches)

MÉTIER … « DESIGNER DE VIE URBAINE BIO-INSPIRÉE« .

Repenser les villes, notre habitat d’espèce, comme un lieu de vies multiples et interconnectées, imaginer une logistique urbaine à la façon d’un écosystème vivant, penser son territoire comme un biotope, utiliser le design pour repenser conceptions et usages …

Venez découvrir avec Karine Weber comment le métier du design s’inspire du biomimétisme, et réciproquement. Comment son parcours l’a amenée à passer 18 mois à l’ENSCI Les Ateliers pour suivre le Master of Science « Nature Inspired Design » après 15 ans de métier (chez IKEA en bonne partie) dans le développement des compétences, l’amélioration continue, la logistique de flux et la supply chain !

Pourquoi, comment, et quel nouveau regard sur ces métiers le biomimétisme lui apporte-il ?

Karine est également « fresqueuse » de la Fresque du Climat et associée Time for the planet … elle vous expliquera aussi ce que ça veut dire pour elle.


MARDI 25 > 16h-16h30 // Salle « Comme à la Maison » Niveau S2 OUEST (vers la gauche en bas des marches)

MÉTIER … « CHARGÉE DE COMMUNICATION POUR UN CONSERVATOIRE BOTANIQUE NATIONAL« .

Vous voulez travailler dans la communication, exercer vos talents en graphisme, en contenu éditorial, ou encore en positionnement de marque, mais en travaillant au sein d’un établissement scientifique liée à la recherche et à la biodiversité ? Venez écouter le parcours d’Audrey Billon qui a aussi bien travaillé en agence que dans des établissements privés et publics.

Audrey Billon est diplômée du Celsa en sciences de l’information et de la communication (Master Communication des entreprises, institutions, et stratégies), et d’un Master de Penninghen en Direction artistique, arts graphiques et conception.


MERCREDI 26 > 12h-12h30 // Salle « Comme à la Maison » Niveau S2 OUEST (vers la gauche en bas des marches)

MÉTIER « RESTAURATRICE DE COLLECTIONS ENTOMOLOGIQUES ». Comment devient-on restauratrice de collections d’insectes ? Et qu’est-ce que cela signifie au juste ? Comment classer ces collections ? Les mettre en scène ? Les étudier ? Quelle formation ? Quel parcours ?  

Aline Donini, entomologiste-muséologue vous racontera son quotidien étonnant, mais aussi sa passion et sa fascination pour les insectes.

Diplômée d’un master en Muséologie des sciences auprès du Muséum National d’Histoire Naturelle de Paris, d’un autre en histoire des sciences auprès de l’Université de Nantes et d’une une formation en biologie de l’environnement, Aline vous expliquera que son métier c’est aussi de l’art au service d’une culture muséale scientifique !

Conserver et valoriser le patrimoine scientifique, c’est conserver la mémoire du passé qui inspirera notre avenir ! Venez découvrir ce métier méconnu à la confluence de la science, de l’art et de l’environnement …


MERCREDI 26 > 14h30-15h // Salle « Comme à la Maison » Niveau S2 OUEST (vers la gauche en bas des marches)

MÉTIER … « GESTIONNAIRE FORESTIER PROFESSIONNEL AGRÉÉ« .

Voilà un métier déterminant et passionnant ! et pourtant sans doute bien mal connu.

Comment « gérer » une forêt ? Comment concilier les besoins de la nature et ceux de l’homme ? Que signifie une gestion raisonnée et multifonctionnelle avec la sylviculture à couvert continu ? Comment trouver le bon équilibre entre lees besoins et attentes des nombreuses parties prenantes de la forêt ? Comment maintenir une cohabitation harmonieuse entre les grands animaux et les arbres ? Comment « imiter la nature et hâter son oeuvre » comme aime à le rappeler Charles-Etienne Dupont ? Comment vont nos forêts et comment aider à l’adaptation au réchauffement climatique ?

Un métier au coeur de la nature, de passion, parfois mal perçu car mal connu, qui mêle une grande diversité d’actions et de techniques (audits dendrométriques et sylvicoles ; chantiers d’exploitation ; éclaircie sélective ; coupe jardinatoire ; coupe d’ensemencement ; reboisement, conversion de futaie régulière …).

Suivez le guide et découvrez ce métier essentiel à travers le récit d’un forestier passionné et engagé.

Charles-Etienne Dupont est diplômé d’un brevet de technicien supérieur, aménagement et gestion, développement du territoire du CFPPA-UFA Métiers de la forêt et du bois.