Biomim LAB Show 2022

In 30-minute segments, researchers demonstrate and demonstrate on stage.

(find the 2021 replays on the Youtube channel Biomim'expo TV)


TUESDAY 25 > 10:15-10:45 // Plenary Louis Armand - Level S3 (downstairs)

[Biomim'LAB Show #1

Optical components for the industry of the future thanks to biomimicry!

Fabien Paumier is a teacher-researcher and HDR lecturer in the Physics Department of the UFR SFA - University of Poitiers.

"Photonics is everywhere but nobody knows it! In military applications, autonomous cars, smartphones, ... photonics is replacing electronics ... we have the opportunity to create the electronics of the 21st century.

Photonics! ... it's electronics at the speed of light! Explanations and demonstrations during this Biomim LAB Show to discover the design of optical components in 3D architecture inspired for example by the nanometric structures of butterfly wings and lotus leaves!


TUESDAY 25 > 10:55-11:25 // Plenary Louis Armand - Level S3 (downstairs)

[Biomim'LAB Show #2

When the bones of giant mammals and reptiles (present and fossil!) inspire the high-strength mechanical parts of the future...

Alexandra Houssaye is a palaeontologist at the Muséum national d'Histoire naturelle, Director of Research at the CNRS, and a specialist in "palaeobiomimicry";

Julien Chaves-Jacob is a senior lecturer at Aix-Marseille University, specialising in bio-inspired design.

Presentation of their joint work carried out in partnership with a major industrial group in the aeronautics industry to try to resolve a certain number of issues relating to the wear and resistance of mechanical parts in highly stressed environments and uses.

What if the solution came from the past? The great animals of the Jurassic and Cretaceous periods must also have had extraordinary bone structures to be able to move and withstand the incredible pressures of their extraordinary size...


TUESDAY 25 > 12.10-12.40 // Plenary Louis Armand - Level S3 (downstairs)

[ Biomim'LAB Show #3

Agile bio-inspired robots to get around.

Swaminath Venkateswaran is a teacher-researcher at the Ecole supérieure d'ingénieurs Léonard-de-Vinci, has a PhD in mechanical engineering from the École Centrale de Nantes, and is affiliated with the Modeling research group of the De Vinci Research Centre (DVRC).

During this Biomim LAB show, you will see a presentation of his research work which focuses mainly on bio-inspired locomotion approaches for industrial applications! The inspection of pipes and pipelines is of crucial importance, how to choose the right locomotion principle? how to sneak past bends, turns and junctions? ... elephant trunk, caterpillar ... the living world is full of solutions, useful in many fields.

Come and discover these amazing and inspiring works at Biomim'expo. And for more information: LinkedIn ; Google scholar ; GitHub

.


TUESDAY 25 > 16.45-17.15 // Plenary Louis Armand - Level S3 (downstairs)

[Biomim'LAB Show #4

Translating insect flight into a mathematical equation for innovation in energy performance.

Benjamin Thiria is a lecturer at the Laboratory of Physics and Mechanics of Heterogeneous Media at ESPCI Paris. He is also a lecturer at the École Polytechnique.

Aerodynamics, propulsion, energy efficiency, structural optimisation, bionics ... living beings have developed the art and the way to propel themselves through the air and water with incredible efficiency, energy frugality and mechanical optimisation.

Why are insect wings soft and elastic? Why and how do they deform under the effect of the surrounding fluid? How can wing beats be translated into a mathematical equation? How can we study insect flight in the laboratory to decipher its secrets? How can biomimicry help us study these strategies to find ways of innovating and optimising energy performance?

Biomim LAB Show 2022

Par séquence de 30 minutes, des chercheurs font devant vous des démonstrations et des manips sur scène.

(retrouvez les replays 2021 sur la chaine Youtube Biomim’expo TV)


MARDI 25 > 10h15-10h45 // Plénière Louis Armand – Niveau S3 (en bas)

[ Biomim’LAB Show #1

Les composants optiques de l’industrie du futur grâce au biomimétisme !

Fabien Paumier est Enseignant-chercheur, Maître de conférences HDR au Département de Physique de l’UFR SFA – Université de Poitiers.

« la photonique est partout mais personne ne le sait ! Dans les applications militaires, la voiture autonome, les smartphones, .. la photonique est en train de remplacer l’électronique .. nous avons la possibilité de créer l’électronique du XXIe siècle »

La photonique ! … c’est l’électronique à la vitesse de la lumière ! Explications et démonstrations lors de ce Biomim LAB Show pour découvrir la conception de composants optiques en architecture 3D inspirés par exemple des structures nanométriques des ailes de papillon et des feuilles de lotus !


MARDI 25 > 10h55-11h25 // Plénière Louis Armand – Niveau S3 (en bas)

[ Biomim’LAB Show #2

Lorsque les os des mammifères et reptiles géants (actuels et fossiles !) inspirent les pièces mécaniques à très haute résistance du futur …

Alexandra Houssaye est Paléontologue au Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle, Directrice de recherche au CNRS, spécialiste de “paléobiomimétisme” ;

Julien Chaves-Jacob est Maître de conférences à Aix-Marseille Université, spécialiste de conception Bio Inspirée.

Présentation de leur travaux conjoints menés en partenariat avec un grand groupe industriel de l’aéronautique pour tenter de résoudre un certain nombre d’enjeux d’usure et de résistance de pièces mécaniques dans des environnements et usages sous fortes contraintes.

Et si la solution venait du passé ? Les grands animaux du Jurassique et du Crétacé devaient eux aussi disposer de structures osseuses extraordinaires pour pouvoir se déplacer et supporter les incroyables pressions de leurs gabarits hors normes …


MARDI 25 > 12h10-12h40 // Plénière Louis Armand – Niveau S3 (en bas)

[ Biomim’LAB Show #3

Des robots agiles bio-inspirés pour se faufiler partout.

Swaminath Venkateswaran est enseignant chercheur à l’Ecole supérieure d’ingénieurs Léonard-de-Vinci, il dispose d’un doctorat en génie mécanique obtenu à l’École Centrale de Nantes, et est affilié au groupe de recherche « Modeling » du Centre de Recherche De Vinci (DVRC).

Vous assisterez lors de cette séquence Biomim LAB show à une présentation de ses travaux de recherche qui se concentrent principalement sur les approches de locomotion bio-inspirées pour des applications industrielles ! L’inspection des tuyaux et pipelines est d’une importance cruciale, comment choisir le principe de locomotion adapté ? comment se faufiler ? passer les coudes, les virages et les jonctions ? … trompe d’éléphant, chenille … le vivant recèle de solutions, utiles dans bien des domaines.

Venez découvrir ces travaux étonnants et inspirants à Biomim’expo. Et pour en savoir plus : LinkedIn ; Google scholar ; GitHub

.


MARDI 25 > 16h45-17h15 // Plénière Louis Armand – Niveau S3 (en bas)

[ Biomim’LAB Show #4

Traduire le vol des insectes en équation mathématique pour innover en performance énergétique.

Benjamin Thiria est maître de conférences et travaille au Laboratoire de Physique et Mécanique des Milieux Hétérogènes de l’ESPCI Paris. Il est également chargé d’enseignement à l’École Polytechnique.

Aérodynamisme, propulsion, rendements énergétiques, optimisation des structures, bionique … le vivant a développé l’art et la manière de se propulser dans l’air et dans l’eau avec une une incroyable efficacité, beaucoup de frugalité énergétique et d’optimisation. mécanique.

Pourquoi les ailes des insectes sont-elles souples et élastiques ? Pourquoi et comment se déforment-elles sous l’effet du fluide environnant ? Comment traduire des battements d’ailes en équation mathématique ? Comment étudier le vol des insectes en laboratoire pour en décrypter les secrets ? Comment le biomimétisme peut-il nous aider à étudier ces stratégies pour trouver des pistes d’innovations et d’optimisation de performance énergétique ?